Strings of Me

via Daily Prompt: Yarn

yarn2

You cannot weave me

    into what you want

Hell I can’t even weave myself

    into what I want

Because I’m not sure

    what that is

I am not a pattern

    with precise directions

Nor a nicely laid out

    perfect design

I am more multi-colored strings

    criss crossed randomly

    with high and low points

    twisted pieces

    wound too tightly

    that when pulled too far

    simply unravel

I am yarn that begins one color

    and changes as I wrap

    around and around

    trying to design my life

But maybe I need not design it

Maybe…

    I let life design me

©MidwestFantasy

04/30/2017

9 thoughts on “Strings of Me

  1. Thesentinel334 says:

    Beautiful 🙏🙏 I love this. The accompanying picture is a childhood memory for me, as we used to do this at school in the 70’s.

    Like

  2. Nice poetry. You have captured the feeling of society trying to make us into something we may never want to be, instead let nature drive us, otherwise we end up in knots.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

